Florida Nursing License Consequences After Charged With Crime

call: 813.258.4800

The Consequences for Your Florida Nursing License After a Crime

train tracks

Even after your criminal case resolves the Florida Board of Nursing can take action against your license. Many people believe that simply pleading “no contest” or making sure that they get a withhold of adjudication will protect their license. However the Florida Board of Nursing can impose a penalty even if you plead “no contest” or the judge withholds an adjudication of guilt.

This is why we make protecting your future and license our top priority in handling your criminal case. In order to protect your license and employment you should understand what the potential consequences of a criminal charge could be.

What penalties can the Nursing Board impose if I am charged with a crime?

The recommended minimum and maximum penalties that the Nursing Board can impose are different for each type of crime. Click on each description to find out more:

FIRST OFFENSE:

  • Minimum: $250 fine.
  • Maximum: denial of licensure or $500 fine and suspension to be followed by a term of probation.

SECOND OFFENSE

  • Minimum: $500 fine and probation
  • Maximum: denial of licensure or $1,000 fine and revocation

FIRST OFFENSE:

  • Minimum: $250 fine.
  • Maximum: denial of licensure or $500 fine and suspension to be followed by a term of probation.

SECOND OFFENSE

  • Minimum: $500 fine and probation.
  • Maximum: denial of licensure or $1,000 fine and revocation.

FIRST OFFENSE:

  • Minimum: $250 fine.
  • Maximum: denial of licensure or $500 fine and suspension to be followed by a term of probation.

SECOND OFFENSE

  • Minimum: $500 fine and probation.
  • Maximum: denial of licensure or $1,000 fine and revocation.

.

FIRST OFFENSE:

  • Minimum: $250 fine.
  • Maximum: denial of licensure or $500 fine and suspension to be followed by a term of probation.

SECOND OFFENSE

  • Minimum: $500 fine and probation.
  • Maximum: denial of licensure or $1,000 fine and revocation.

FIRST OFFENSE:

  • Minimum: $250 fine, IPN evaluation, and probation.
  • Maximum: denial of licensure or $500 fine, IPN evaluation, and suspension to be followed by a term of probation or revocation.

SECOND OFFENSE

  • Minimum: $750 fine, IPN evaluation, and suspension to be followed by a term of probation.
  • Maximum: denial of licensure and $1,000 fine, and permanent revocation.

FIRST OFFENSE:

  • Minimum: $250 fine.
  • Maximum: denial of licensure or $500 fine and suspension to be followed by a term of probation.

SECOND OFFENSE

  • Minimum: $500 fine and probation.
  • Maximum: denial of licensure or $1,000 fine and revocation.

FIRST OFFENSE:

  • Minimum: $250 fine.
  • Maximum: denial of licensure or $500 fine and suspension to be followed by a term of probation or revocation.

SECOND OFFENSE

  • Minimum: $500 fine and probation.
  • Maximum: denial of licensure or $1,000 fine and permanent revocation.

FIRST OFFENSE:

  • Minimum: $250 fine.
  • Maximum: denial of licensure or $500 fine and suspension to be followed by a term of probation or revocation.

SECOND OFFENSE

  • Minimum: $500 fine and probation.
  • Maximum: denial of licensure or $1,000 fine and permanent revocation.

FIRST OFFENSE:

  • Minimum: $250 fine.
  • Maximum: denial of licensure or $500 fine and suspension to be followed by a term of probation or revocation.

SECOND OFFENSE

  • Minimum: $500 fine and probation.
  • Maximum: denial of licensure or $1,000 fine and permanent revocation.

FIRST OFFENSE:

  • Minimum: $250 fine.
  • Maximum: $500 fine and suspension to be followed by a term of probation.

SECOND OFFENSE

  • Minimum: $500 fine and probation.
  • Maximum: $750 fine and suspension to be followed by a term of probation.

THIRD OFFENSE

  • Minimum: $750 fine and suspension to be followed by a term of probation.
  • Maximum: $1,000 fine and revocation.

FIRST OFFENSE:

  • Minimum: $250 fine, IPN evaluation, and probation.
  • Maximum: denial of licensure or $500 fine, IPN evaluation, and suspension to be followed by a term of probation or revocation.

SECOND OFFENSE

  • Minimum: $750 fine, IPN evaluation, and suspension to be followed by a term of probation
  • Maximum: denial of licensure and $1,000 fine and permanent revocation.

THIRD OFFENSE

  • Minimum: $750 fine and revocation.
  • Maximum: $1,000 fine and permanent revocation.

Can the Nursing Board decide on a different penalty?

The Board can decide to reduce the penalty if a formal hearing is held, and the person facing discipline shows that mitigating factors exist. The Board can also decide to increase the penalty if there are aggravating factors. The Board can consider the following factors when deciding the penalty:

  1. The danger to the public.
  2. Previous disciplinary action against the licensee in this or any other jurisdiction.
  3. The length of time the licensee has practiced.
  4. The actual damage, physical or otherwise, caused by the violation.
  5. The deterrent effect of the penalty imposed.
  6. Any efforts at rehabilitation.
  7. Attempts by the licensee to correct or stop violations, or refusal by the licensee to correct or stop violations.
  8. Cost of treatment.
  9. Financial hardship.
  10. Cost of disciplinary proceedings.

Get help today

If you have a nursing license and have been arrested or are facing criminal charges, don’t wait to get help. Having an experienced attorney on your side can make the difference in both your case and your career. Contact us today for a free consultation.